Criticism~Today’s Lesson

Dance_001

Hello Readers:
So, as some of you know, I like to attend a little sermon from time to time, and I found today’s to be exceptionally inspiring.
Someone told me once in not so many words, that I wasn’t worthy enough or done enough to be “family.” Those words have stung my heart pretty bad since, until today. The sermon below has opened my eyes to something and that is I don’t need APPROVAL to be part of a family, all I need, is to open my heart and try to be the best I can be, for me. There is only one judge in at the end of our lives, and that is God. (If you don’t believe in God, that is fine you don’t have to, its just a point)
So today, I share the sermon: You Can Cope with Criticism:
It is the Lord (Himself) who examines and judges me~ 1 Corinthians 4:4
No matter what you do in life you will occasionally be criticized by someone, so you must learn to cope with it and not let it bother you.
Criticism is very difficult for most of us, and a person’s self-image can be damaged by one critical remark, but it is possible to learn how not to be affected at all by criticism. Like many other great people, the apostle Paul experienced criticism about many things.
He experienced the same thing we do, which is that people are fickle. They love you when you are doing everything they want you to do and are quick to criticizes when just one little thing goes wrong. Paul said he was not in the least bit concerned about the judgments of others. He said he did not even judge himself. He knew he was in God’s hands and that in the end, he would stand before God and give an account of himself and his life. He would not stand before any man to be judged.
(1 Corinthians 4:3-4I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself. My conscience is clear, but that does not make me innocent. It is the Lord who judges me.)
Sometimes the people who are criticized the most are the ones who try to do something constructive with their life. It amazes me how people who do nothing want to criticize those who try to do something. I may not always do everything right, but at least I am attempting to do something to make the world a better place and to help hurting people. I believe that is very pleasing to God!
After many years of suffering over the criticisms of people and trying to gain their approval I finally decided that if God is happy with me, that is enough. Each time someone criticized you, try making a positive affirmation about yourself to yourself. Don’t just stand and take in everything anyone wants to dump on you.
Establish independence!
Be confident in God’s love and approval and don’t be defeated by criticism. Trust in Jesus.
The first step is not reacting to your critics, but it doesn’t stop there.
Jesus blessed those who persecuted Him because of His deep trust
in the Father’s plan.
How can you bless people who are critical of you?
Psalm 56:3-4
Matthew 6: 20-21
Every time you affirm your trust in Jesus, you put a coin into His Treasury. Thus you build up equity in preparation for days of trouble.
Jesus keeps safely in His heart all trust invested in Him, with interest compounded continuously. The more you trust Jesus, the more He empowers you to do so. Practice trusting Him during quiet days.
When nothing much seems to be happening. Then when storms come, your trust balance will be sufficient to see you through.
Store up for yourself treasure in heaven, through placing your trust in Him.
This practice will keep you in His Peace.
Leave a Reply

