Tough Challenge

Hello Readers. Sorry it has been a while since I posted, but I have been working on a new project.

So, now the fight for the crown begins.  Our first challenge is for FFL, and for Relay for Life.  Of course,  I am ready, for this challenge,  it is a no brainier.  My mother is my inspiration for this.
She was a beautiful soul that was taken to soon from this earth.

In the summer of 2007, she was diagnosed with lung cancer. Two months after,  she was in the hospital to have her upper left lobe removed.  Her surgery went well, and things looked hopeful.  She did radiation therapy, and never lost any of her hair. She endured the harsh reality of chemotherapy, and there was many times I sat by her side holding her hand and telling her we was going to beat this.  She was told in the spring of 2008 that the cancer cells had returned to her right lung,  but it was early enough,  that another round of chemotherapy would be her best option.  Like a champion my mother endured again.  Things started looking good again.
In the fall of 2008, I felt confident enough to move away, nine hours away to be exact and start living my life. I called her every week to make sure she was doing alright, with promises that she was.
In August of 2009, my sister called to say mom was back in the hospital with a staff infection and that she was doing okay. She was released on a Wednesday.  I spoke to her that day. Her voice was so refreshing. This would be the last time, my mother and I spoke real words to each other. Before hanging up the phone, I told her I loved her and I would talk to her soon.

Two days later my sister calls me again, and tells me that mom was back in the hospital and that she was in a coma. I didn’t understand, how in two days, she could be great, and then in 48 hours, life would take such a drastic turn. Little did I know how drastic this was going to be.

At the time, I was unemployed, so what money I did have was just paying for my bills. I had also lost my car and had no transportation other then the few people that my fiance’ could contact when we needed a ride somewhere. I was praying that everything would be fine, that she just got sick again, and they would make her better. I called my daughter who would sit by her bedside when she could and I would talk to my mother through a cellphone that my daughter would hold up to her ear.

They did a CAT scan on her and found out that the cancer, had caused a blood clot that formed in her brain, and that no one had caught it. Time would be our only hope. In the four days that she lay in the hospital bed, decisions were being made. Family was called and plans were being made for the worst. On Monday, my step-father had decided that he could or would not let her suffer, and had the machines that was keeping her alive, turned off. Monday night I was called, and my daughter told me that she was holding on to life, for what, no one could figure, but, I knew. I asked my daughter to put the phone to her ear, and I said these words.

“Mom, I love you. You have been a good mother, daughter, sister, wife and friend. You have raised your children, and they have children of their own to care for. I am giving you permission to rest. To close your eyes, and sleep. It’s okay to go. I love you, and I promise I will look after my brothers and sister for you.” She moaned and I think I heard her say “I love you, (and my name)”  My daughter took the phone from her, and spoke to me momentarily, and told me that she would call me if anything changed. I got called back the next morning, and told that mom had past, but before she did, she said the eeriest thing, that no-one could understand, and that was, “Mom, I am home.”

She died on Sept 6th 2009.  Her 63rd birthday will be on March 28th.

So, being asked why I relay?

I relay, for my mother Kimberly, who was the best mother a daughter could ask for, and I miss her.

 

As always readers, continue to reach for the stars, no matter how out of reach they seem. (and if you happen to catch the one named Kimberly Drue, tell her I love her.)

16551002856_0a72c544ee_o

Leave a Reply

